EAST DEVON DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of Planning Committee held at Council Chamber, Blackdown House, Honiton on 27 February 2024

Attendance list at end of document

The meeting started at 10.03 am and ended at 12.05 pm. A brief adjournment took place between 11.13 am and 11.22 am.

In the absence of the Chair, Councillor Eileen Wragg, the Committee agreed to Councillor Sarah Chamberlain being the Chair for this meeting and to Councillor Yehudi Levine being Vice Chair.

117 Minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes of the Planning Committee held on 30 January 2024 were confirmed as a true record.

118 **Declarations of interest**

Minute 124. 23/1752/FUL (Minor) EXMOUTH LITTLEHAM.

In accordance with the Code of Good Practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the constitution Councillor Brian Bailey advised lobbying in respect of this application.

Minute 125. 22/2717/FUL (Minor) EXMOUTH LITTLEHAM.

In accordance with the Code of Good Practice for Councillors and Officers dealing with planning matters as set out in the constitution Councillor Brian Bailey advised lobbying in respect of this application

119 Matters of urgency

There were none.

120 Confidential/exempt item(s)

There were none.

121 Planning appeal statistics

The Committee noted the Development Manager's report which included the withdrawal of an appeal for planning application 22/2533/MOUT – land north of Oak Road, West Hill for the erection of 23 dwellings.

The Committee received an update on the public inquiry for the battery storage unit at Pound Lane, Hawkchurch. The Development Manager advised the Inspectorate had dismissed the appeal on health and safety and environmental reasons.

The planning applications below followed the revised running order.

122 23/2242/VAR (Major) BROADCLYST

Applicant:

Mr Paul Withers (Eagle One MMIII Ltd.)

Location:

Land to the east of Anning Road/Tithebarn Way, Redhayes, Exeter.

Proposal:

Variation of Condition 22 (requiring the development to connect to the Decentralised Energy Network) of planning permission 21/3148/MOUT (up-to 6000 sqm of office development) to allow flexibility for alternative heating options to be considered.

RESOLVED:

Refused as per officer recommendation.

123 23/1752/FUL (Minor) EXMOUTH LITTLEHAM

Applicant:

Mr & Miss Oliver & Meg Bridge & Barnett.

Location:

Units 6 & 7 Sideshore, Queens Drive, Exmouth, EX82GD.

Proposal:

Retention of external decking area to provide additional seating.

RESOLVED:

- 1. Refused as per officer recommendation.
- 2. That action to remove the decking and all associated works which have been undertaken be authorised and that the landscaping as previously approved be reinstated.

124 **22/2717/FUL (Minor) EXMOUTH LITTLEHAM**

Applicant:

Mr A Douglas.

Location:

13 Foxholes Hill, Exmouth, EX8 2DF.

Proposal:

Construction of a detached 2 x bed dwelling with associated parking and amenity space (including sections/topography plan/access and egress)

RESOLVED:

Approved with conditions as per officer recommendation.

125 23/2722/FUL (Minor) BROADCLYST

Councillor Simon Smith joined the meeting.

Applicant:

Ms Naomi Harnett (EDDC).

Location:

Exeter Science Park, Clyst Honiton.

Proposal:

Proposal for a new building to house an energy substation with associated vehicle access, boundary fencing, external works, infrastructure and landscaping.

RESOLVED:

Approved with conditions as per officer recommendation.

126 **23/2639/FUL (Minor) SIDMOUTH TOWN**

Applicant:

Mr & Mrs G Symington.

Location:

28 Connaught Road, Sidmouth, EX10 8TT.

Proposal:

Single storey side/rear extension.

RESOLVED:

Approved with conditions as per officer recommendation.

Attendance List

Councillors present:

B Bailey

I Barlow

C Brown

J Brown

A Bruce

S Chamberlain (Vice-Chair)

J Heath

Y Levine

E Rylance

S Smith

D Wilson

Councillors also present (for some or all the meeting)

N Hookway

Officers in attendance:

Wendy Ormsby, Development Manager Damian Hunter, Planning Solicitor Wendy Harris, Democratic Services Officer

Liam Fisher, Senior Planning Officer

Lynne Shwenn, Senior Development Control Officer

Gavin Spiller, Principal Planning Officer (West)

Anita Williams, Principal Solicitor (Deputy Monitoring Officer)

Emerald McGuire-Febey, Assistant Planning Officer

Planning Committee 27 February 2024

D Haggerty A Hall M Howe E Wragg	
Chairman	Date:

Councillor apologies: S Gazzard